As PUPR students know by now, the AIRWeb and Internet Engineering courses have been consolidated into a single course called Internet Engineering I (IE-I), which is on Tuesday’s.

This was a decision made strictly by the administration. 12 graduate students are enrolled –a big number for a grad course. We are now in the fourth week of IE-I and I can tell that is a lot of fun.

This coming Winter semester I’m scheduled to teach a new grad course called Advanced Search Engine Architecture (ASEA). Both, IE-I and ASEA are hands-on. This means students need to get their hands and feet wet, not just learning the theory.

What we are trying to accomplish in IE-I is to understand how hackers and spammers use Internet architectures at the level of TCP/IP and Search Engines to game the system. I’ll open a special blog category for it during the week.

First lecture (Lecture 1) was briefly summarized in the August 2009 issue of IR Watch. BTW. Tonight’s lecture (Lecture 4) covers the following:

IP Protocol (MAC and IP Mapping)

ICMP Protocol

ARP Hacking Attacks

ICMP Hacking Attacks

Firewall’s Fragmentation Offset ¬†Attacks

Meanwhile, ASEA is an expanded version of the previous Search Engine Architecture (SEA) course I’ve taught before. Students interested in registering, can search this blog for the SEA category and check what we have covered in the past. This will give them an idea of what to expect from the Advanced SEA course. One thing I’m planning to do different is to build an inverted index from scratch using AJAX. The most recent version of Terrier will also be used for testing/benchmarking experimentals.

Last but not least, September Issue of IRW will be a bit delayed.

